New Jersey Bankruptcy Lawyer - Toll Free: (866) 503-5655 | Local: (856) 797-1500

Certified as a NJ Consumer Law Bankruptcy Attorney by the
American Board of Certification, which is accredited by the American Bar Association

≡ Menu

10. Objection of a New Jersey Chapter 7 Discharge

Every debtor must complete a personal financial management course, that is provided by a New Jersey Bankruptcy Court approved credit counseling company. The course must be completed, with a certification filed with the court, within 60 days from the date of the first scheduled Meeting of Creditors’ hearing date.  The list of approved counseling agencies may be obtained through a link from the home page of the NJ. bankruptcy court’s website.

The course may be taken through the web or by way of a telephone conference. The course is not a pass/fail test, but rather, an approximate 3 hour course, informing the debtor as to how to deal with their life and finances post bankruptcy. The counseling agency provides a certificate reflecting that the course has been completed. Thereafter, the debtor must complete and sign another certification that reflects the counseling agency’s certificate number, which must be filed with the court.

If the debtor has not filed the appropriate certificate with the court, in a timely manner, their case will be dismissed. Thereafter, the debtor will likely be permitted to take the course, file a Motion to Reopen the Case, and file the certificate, to obtain a discharge. However, the cost of reopening a chapter 7 case, at the time of the this blog is $260.00.

Robert Manchel, a bankruptcy lawyer in New Jersey, may be contacted at 1 (866) 503-5655 to discuss your options for bankruptcy protection.

Comments on this entry are closed.